The Emiciclo Heritage Building
The Emiciclo heritage building, also known as the palace of exposition, is now used as the headquarters of the Region of Abruzzo. In 1888 the architect Carlo Waldis designed this unique building. It is characterized by a hexagonal-shaped portico with 12 Doric columns. The project was part of a tender proposal, the goal of which was to restore and strengthen the building, which was severely damaged by the earthquake of April 2009. Seismic strengthening of the building was achieved using viscous dampers and Steel Fiber Reinforced Grout (SFRG).